Bullet Raja goes on pan-India ride

 

Bullet Raja goes on pan-India ride
Subhayan Dutta ■ letters@hindustantimes.com
Hindustan Times (Kolkata)
Feb 4 2016

KOLKATA: Four pairs of clothes, one laptop, one Kindle, one camera and some bike spare parts – that is what Dhruv Dholakia is carrying during his 14-month all-India journey on his Royal Enfield Classic 500 Desert Storm.

Dhruv Dholakia’s journey on his Royal Enfield Classic 500 Desert Storm will end after 14 months.His Facebook page ‘On a Bullet Yatra’ has already got him around 37,000 followers till now.

During his visit to Kolkata, where he has the maximum number of followers (5,000), Dholakia shares with HT his journey and reveals the reason for undertaking it.

“People of Kolkata just love reading and Bengalis are known for their knack of traveling. It’s no surprise about the number of followers I have from here,” said Dholakia.

It was in the summer of 2014 in March, when 34-yearold Dholakia left his lucrative bank job in Mumbai and decided to prepare for the journey. His preparations led him to explore travel books, take up writing courses, practice yoga and even learn how to ride a bike. His preparations went on till September 28, 2015.

The man, who has travelled 10,200 kilometres on his Bullet covering 10 states till now, did not know how to ride a bike until two years back. But for a man, who lives his life more on spontaneity than planning, there can never be a better beast, says Dholakia.

“I am not a biker who keeps tab of every new model coming out. I got to know that Bullet is ideal for a tour. In extreme conditions like Himalayas, even Harley-Davidson can fail but a Bullet will never let you down.”

Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Chattisgarh, Orissa and West Bengal are the states Dholakia has dropped by till now.

“I have plans to go to Guwahati from here and am moving towards Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland.”

“The autobiography of Steve Jobs’ was the greatest inspiration for me. Life is about making a choice, believing in it and sticking to it,” said Dholakia.

“I was awestruck after reading his book. He changed six to seven companies, introduced a whole new Windows interface. I was desperate to find what inspired him till I came to know that he was in Indiafor nine months, which changed his life,” he said.

He added, “After knowing about his life, I decided to embark on this journey. But convincing my parents was a difficult job.”

“There was pandemonium in my house. My parents along with my friends were upset and advised me against it. Even my wife was upset and we got divorced.”

“But then, I went on a sixweek trip to the hills. I spent four weeks in Darjeeling doing a mountaineering course at Himalayan Mountaineering Institute (HMI) and for two weeks I was in Sikkim. After I returned, my parents agreed to let me go on my journey.”

read more…

Leave a Reply

